Birgit Egen
Birgit Egen
Consultant to the Managing Director
Phone: +49 8157 932-427
Fax: +49 8157 932-214


Scientific Advisory Board

Every two years, the Scientific Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institute for Ornithology evaluates the directors and research group leaders regarding their research program and resource allocation to ensure that they pursue only high level state of the art research. The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are recruited from internationally leading research institutions and universities and are selected by the President on the basis of suggestions from the institute. They are appointed for a maximum period of six years, and new appointments replace part of the members every three years.

The last meeting of the council has taken place from 23 October to 25 October 2011 in Radolfzell and Seewiesen. Prof. Dr. Gabrielle A. Nevitt is chairwoman of the board.

The members of the board are

Prof. Dr. Evan Balaban, McGill University, Montreal, Canada

Prof. Dr. Staffan Bensch, University of Lund, Sweden

Prof. Dr. Kevin J. Gaston, The University of Sheffield, England

Prof. Dr. Marcel Lambrechts, Centre d'Ecologie Fonctionelle et Evolutive, France

Prof. Dr. Gabrielle A. Nevitt, University of California, USA

Prof. Dr. Michael J. Ryan, University of Texas, USA

Prof. Dr. J. Martin Wild, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Prof. Dr. David W. Winkler, Cornell University, USA

loading content